daycarefile
License activeChild-care center

Rucker Head Start

5201 Vinett Ave, Houston, TX 77017 · Harris County (713) 845-7467 License #1698103 · first licensed Dec 14, 2020
14
inspections on file
9
recorded violations
3
health & safety class
Nov 10, 2025
last inspection

Inspection history

Source: Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Child Care Regulation

Records held from Sep 1, 2021 onward. Earlier visits may exist in the agency’s own files.

Inspection history for Rucker Head Start
DateKindOutcome as recordedViolationsOfficial record
Nov 10, 2025InspectionNo deficiencies cited0Agency record
Nov 7, 2025InspectionNo deficiencies cited0Agency record
Nov 12, 2024InspectionDeficiencies cited2Agency record
Aug 29, 2024InspectionNo deficiencies cited0Agency record
Aug 16, 2024ReportDeficiencies cited3Agency record
Feb 13, 2024InspectionNo deficiencies cited0Agency record
Dec 5, 2023InspectionDeficiencies cited1Agency record
Dec 20, 2022InspectionNo deficiencies cited0Agency record
Dec 9, 2022InspectionDeficiencies cited1Agency record
Dec 9, 2022ReportNo deficiencies cited0Agency record
Aug 2, 2022InspectionNo deficiencies cited0Agency record
Feb 25, 2022AssessmentDeficiencies cited1Agency record
Dec 13, 2021InspectionDeficiencies cited1Agency record
Dec 9, 2021ReportNo deficiencies cited0Agency record

Violations

Text reproduced verbatim · Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Child Care Regulation
How to read violations

Nearly every licensed provider accumulates some. A missing signature and an unlocked medicine cabinet are both “violations”, and they are not the same thing. Look at the class, the pattern over time and how quickly it was corrected — not the count alone.

Paperwork — records, postings, forms Standard — supervision, ratio, training Health & safety — direct risk to a child

Class is our grouping of the state’s own weights, reviewed per state. The agency’s own label is always shown beside it.

Nov 12, 2024Inspection · 2 deficiencies cited
StandardState weight: Medium High
746.1301(a)(4)(A) — Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR

“It was found that 4 employees did not have valid CPR/first aid.”

Corrected Dec 20, 2024
Health & safetyState weight: High
745.635(2) — AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter

“A caregiver was present at the operation with an ineligible background check.”

Corrected Nov 12, 2024
Aug 16, 2024Report · 3 deficiencies cited
StandardState weight: Medium
746.707 — Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent

“Based on the information found during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence that an incident report was not shared with the parent.”

Corrected Oct 11, 2024
StandardState weight: Medium
746.701(5) — Licensing Incident/Illness Report Form - Situations Placing Children at Risk

“An incident report was not on record or provided for review during the investigation.”

Corrected Oct 11, 2024
Health & safetyState weight: High
746.305(a)(6) — Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

“An incident in which a child was placed at risk was not reported to Childcare Licensing as required.”

Corrected Oct 11, 2024
Dec 5, 2023Inspection · 1 deficiency cited
StandardState weight: Medium High
746.303(a)(4) — Report Change in Director

“The director on record with licensing is no longer the director for the operation. The director on record ceased being the director in August 2023. There is a new director for the operation that licensing was not notified about. The new director took over director responsibilites in August 2023.”

Corrected Dec 12, 2023
Dec 9, 2022Inspection · 1 deficiency cited
StandardState weight: Medium High
746.3701(1) — Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

“In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.”

Corrected Dec 9, 2022
Feb 25, 2022Assessment · 1 deficiency cited
PaperworkState weight: Medium Low
746.303(b) — Report Number of Employees

“A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.”

Corrected Mar 1, 2022
Dec 13, 2021Inspection · 1 deficiency cited
Health & safetyState weight: High
745.621(b)(1)(A) — AP Renewal background checks submitted -No later than 5 yrs from date last submitted subjects initial or renewal fingerprint-based criminal hist check

“One caregiver does not have renewed background check. Became inactive 8.23.2021”

Corrected Dec 20, 2021

Nearby providers